Most Viewed Stories



Upcoming Slate Of Two-Disc Retrospectives Includes Such Indispensable Artists As

Doris Day, Earth, Wind & Fire, Julio Iglesias, and Sade

New Essential  Releases Due March 25th

Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment, has announced a number of new releases in its critically acclaimed and globally successful Essential series. Career-spanning, chronologically sequenced, and fully annotated, the two-disc packages – also available as digital downloads – include new and updated anthologies from such quintessential artists as Doris Day, Earth, Wind & Fire, Julio Iglesias, and Sade. The new Essential releases arrive in stores and at online retailers on March 25th

Legacy Recordings’ Essential series has set a worldwide standard with its vast catalog of retrospective collections, available as double-CD packages or digital downloads. The long-running series anthologizes the biggest hits and greatest songs from a diverse range of top artists, spanning the full course of their influential careers. 


Columbia/Legacy celebrates the 90th birthday of one of the greatest pop singers of all time with The Essential Doris Day. Beginning with Day’s breakthrough smash, “Sentimental Journey,” the album covers the legendary star’s extraordinary two decades at Columbia, including multi-million-selling hits like “It’s Magic,” “Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered,” and of course, the Academy Award-winning classics, “Secret Love” and “Whatever Will Be (Que Será, Será).” The Essential Doris Day also features duets with Frank Sinatra, Buddy Clark, Robert Goulet, Frankie Laine, and John Raitt, as well as such creative highlights as “Fools Rush In (Where Angels Fear To Tread),” from her landmark 1962 jazz collaboration with the André Previn Trio, and 1964’s “Move Over Darling,” – a top 10 UK pop smash in the year of Beatlemania, produced and co-written by her son, Terry Melcher (The Byrds, The Beach Boys). 

The Essential Doris Day was produced by Didier C. Deutsch. The album was mastered by Mark Wilder at New York City’s Battery Studios and includes exclusive liner notes by Nancy Sinatra. 


Founded on earthy soul, ethereal wind arrangements, and flaming horns, Earth, Wind & Fire revolutionized American music by introducing sophisticated funk and African folk rhythms into the popular culture. The Essential Earth, Wind & Fire gathers Maurice White and his brothers-in-rhythm’s groundbreaking hits – including “Shining Star,” “Sing A Song,” “Getaway,” “September,” and “Got To Get You Into My Life,” – along with crucial album tracks and other favorites. Digitally remastered and RIAA gold certified upon its initial 2002 release, the 2014 edition has been updated with additional gems from the epic EWF discography, including 1983’s “Dance Dance Dance” – previously unavailable on CD – as well as 1987’s #1 club classic, “System of Survival,” 2005’s GRAMMY®-nominated “Pure Gold” and “My Promise,” from 2013’s inventive Now, Then & Forever


Iconic entertainer, romantic balladeer, and the best-selling Latin artist of all time, Julio Iglesias is the very definition of a global artist, his legendary career comprising more than 80 albums, performed in 14 languages, with worldwide sales in excess of 300 million records. The Essential Julio Iglesias features the Spanish superstar at his unsurpassed best, collecting his biggest English and Spanish language hits – including “Volver A Empezar (Begin The Beguine),” “Crazy,” and “Agua Dulce, Agua Salá” – alongside his hugely successful collaborations with duet partners like Frank Sinatra, Diana Ross, Stevie Wonder, Sting, Dolly Parton, and Willie Nelson. 

Originally released in 1998 as the 2x-platinum certified My Life: The Greatest Hits, The Essential Julio Iglesias was supervised and engineered by Carlos Alvarez. 


Fronted by the extraordinary Sade Adu, Sade was a phenomenon from the jump, fashioning a sophisticated new blend of jazz, pop, R&B and funk that transformed contemporary soul music. The London-based band went on to become one of the most fêted acts in popular music history, honored with multiple GRAMMY® Awards – including 1986’s “Best New Artist” – and total US sales in excess of 23.5 million, placing them among the RIAA’s “Top Selling Artists (Albums)” of all time. 

The Essential Sade – which made a top 10 Billboard 200 debut upon its 2011 release as The Ultimate Collection – assembles all of Sade’s brilliant hit singles, including “Smooth Operator,” “Your Love Is King,” “The Sweetest Taboo,” “Paradise,” “No Ordinary Love,” “By Your Side,” and “Soldier of Love.” Deep cuts from the group’s multi-platinum albums are also highlighted, alongside tracks exclusive to this collection, including “The Moon and The Sky (Remix Feat. Jay-Z),” “By Your Side (Neptunes Remix),” and 2011’s striking cover of Thin Lizzy’s “Still In Love With You.”



Donate to IndiePulse Music Magazine’s Academic and Music Education Scholarship Program HeartBeat4Kids

IndiePulse Music Magazine creates Scholarships to help Youth In Need of assistance to complete their educational goals and stay in school.

Go to to learn more, Donations can be made at – Any Amount will help!

Support Our Publication

About Joseph Timmons (9869 Articles)
I am the Father of 5 and a "Would Be Philosopher of Idiocy" - Author and Writer for several Blogs and Online Magazine. Review Journalist, Musician and Audio Buff. Follow Me and I'm Sure to Entertain.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: