Most Viewed Stories

Jeremy Parsons Delivers The Timeless “Things I Need To Say”


jeremy parsons albumcover

Jeremy Parsons – Things I Need to Say

1. Makin’ Things Up as I Go.
2. Life.
3. Hope.
4. Circumstance.
5. Burn This House Down.
6. Purpose.
7. Driftin’.
8. Lisa’s Lost.
9. Devils Daughter
10. After All These Years.
11. Decide.
12. Things I Need to Say.
13. Why Is the Bluebird Blue.

Jeremy Parsons is an odd figure in modern Country. He seems to be wandering around the classic Country musicians of the past decades and adding injecting them with the modern vein, thus creating a product that, at times, could be perceived as timeless. Hyperbole or not, we cannot deny the man’s talents and its capacity to deliver good material, such as this album, Things I Need to Say.

In hindsight, Parsons could be perceived as somewhat of a chronicler of Country’s evolution and how it has progressed throughout the course of the last three decades or so. “Why Is The Bluebird Blue” is a pretty good example of that, showcasing the musician’s capacity to combine the classic with the modern, thus creating what it is one of the standout tracks of the whole album.

We’re talking about a musician that has a lot of experience, who has been touring the US and Europe for many years now, and this is something that has been proved in the sheer quality of “Burn This House Down,” reminding us that this is a musician at the peak of his powers at the moment, much to our delight–it’s no surprise that this has been one of the most successful tracks he has produced in recent times.

If I have to point out something that I found refreshing in Things I Need to Say, it would be the use of organs in “Hope”; it adds to the eclectic nature of the album and makes the whole experience much more poignant and heartfelt, which is one of the main traits of Country music, of course. The title track is also one of the main favorites of mine, proving once again a degree of musicianship and variety that makes great albums classics as time keeps progressing.

Naturally, it’s not all perfect. One of the main flaws that we are going to find in this Things I Need to Say is the fact that it has a lot of songs and this makes the album a little less compact, which is a considerable element to take into consideration. Having said that, there are seven or eight tracks worth listening, showing how much of a seasoned musician Jeremy Parsons is and how much he has improved in recent times.

Definitely one to listen to.

–Kevin Tanza



Donate to IndiePulse Music Magazine’s Academic and Music Education Scholarship Program HeartBeat4Kids

IndiePulse Music Magazine creates Scholarships to help Youth In Need of assistance to complete their educational goals and stay in school.

Go to to learn more, Donations can be made at – Any Amount will help!

Support Our Publication

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Indie Pulse Music Reviews Jeremy Parsons’ Latest Album | Record Label, Artist Management, Music Publicity

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: