Most Viewed Stories

‘The Mayor of Benderville,’ Tab Benoit, Returns to the Big Blues Bender for 4 Consecutive Nights

The Mayor of Benderville“, renowned blues guitarist Tab Benoit, makes his triumphant return to headline the 7th Annual Big Blues Bender, at the Westgate Resort & Casino, Thursday, September 9 through Sunday, September 12.

Tickets/Info: (702) 518-3222 or visit https://www.bigbluesbender.com. Benoit performs at the Baller Party (Thursday September 9;  2:30pm-4:30pm); on the Pool Stage with Alastair Greene and Corey Duplechin, (Friday, September 10; 5:45pm-7:15pm); headlines in the International Theater (Saturday, September 11; 10pm-11:45pm); and the Big One in the Bender Ballroom: Tab Benoit’s Midnight Ramble (Sunday, September 12; 12 Midnight-2am), immediately followed by the Bender Brass Wrap Party, from 2am-3am (always runs longer).

Benoit earned the “Mayor of Benderville” nickname due to his leading memorable all-night music jams each year featuring notable guest musicians, while often performing on the drums as well as guitar. Tab and the 2021 Whiskey Bayou Revue are touring throughout 2021 (complete itinerary below).

Benoit’s recent “Chicago Takeover” featured the Louisiana-based musician performing for six evenings in June at the famed City Winery. “Tab Benoit residency helps usher in the return of live music in Chicago,” writes the Chicago Sun-Times, who also interviewed Benoit. Read the entire interview, here. Benoit continues to add new dates to the tour, including four consecutive nights at the Big Blues Bender in Las Vegas, September 9-12 (updated itinerary below).

Tab and guitarist Samantha Fish performed together last November at Nashville’s famed Ryman Auditorium for a live concert streamed worldwide. “This is an artist whose playing speaks to you as much as his lyrics do,” wrote Music Connection magazine, reviewing Benoit’s Ryman show set. “What Tab lacked in theatrics he made up for with a warm and disarming stage presence and heartfelt playing.” 

The Grammy-nominated Benoit was selected among the “30 Best Blues Guitarists In The World Today” by Guitar World in 2020 and also co-authored the book Blues Therapy, about the blues and mental illness.

Benoit, known throughout his thirty-plus career for his environmental activism,  performed two nights in his hometown of Houma at the memorable 16th Annual Voice of the Wetlands Festival.  He also appears prominently in the IMax motion picture Hurricane on the Bayou, a documentary of Hurricane Katrina’s effects and a call to protect and restore the Wetlands, and produced a CD to help restore that state’s Coastal Wetlands. Benoit was inducted into the Louisiana Folklife Center Hall of Master Folk Artists in the Spring of 2020.

Whiskey Bayou Records is a partnership between Benoit and his  partner and manager, Rueben Williams. The label has thus far released albums by such established and up-and-coming artists as Eric McFadden, JP Soars, Alastair Greene, Damon Fowler, Eric Johanson, Jeff McCarty, and Dash Rip Rock.

 TAB BENOIT & THE WHISKEY BAYOU REVUE ON TOUR! 

  • Sept. 9/10/11/12  BIG BLUES BENDER                             Las Vegas NV
  • Sept 14 (Tues)      RHYTHM ROOM                                   Phoenix AZ
  • Sept 15 (Wed)       RHYTHM ROOM                                   Phoenix AZ
  • Sept 16 (Thur)       BELLY UP TAVERN                               Solana Beach CA
  • Sept 17 (Fri)          WORLD RECORDS                                Bakersfield CA
  • Sept 18 (Sat)         FULTON 55                                         Fresno CA
  • Sept 19 (Sun)        CENTER FOR THE ARTS                       Grass Valley CA
  • Sept 21 (Mon)       FREMONT THEATER                            SanLuisObispo CA
  • Sept 22 (Wed)       FELTON MUSIC HALL                           Felton CA
  • Sept 23 (Thur)       THE COVES                                        Union Hall, VA
  • Sept 24 (Fri)          CORNERSTONE                                   Berkeley CA
  • Sept 25 (Sat)          MYSTIC THEATER                               Petaluma CA
  • Oct 8 (Fri)              THE FILLMORE                                   New Orleans LA
  • Oct 19 (Tues)        RAMS HEAD ON STAGE                       Annapolis MD
  • Oct 20 (Wed)         RAMS HEAD ON STAGE                       Annapolis MD
  • Oct 21 (Thur)        THE BIRCHMERE                                  Alexandria VA
  • Oct 22 (Fri)           ELEVATION 27                                    Virginia Bch VA
  • Oct 23 (Sat)          THE COVES                                          Union Hall VA
  • Oct 24 (Sun)         PARAMOUNT BRISTOL                          Bristol TN
  • Oct 26 (Tues)        SELLERSVILLE THEATER                       Sellersville PA
  • Oct 27 (Wed)         SELLERSVILLE THEATER                       Sellersville PA   
  • Oct 28 (Thur)        COHOES MUSIC HALL                          Cohoes PA
  • Oct 29 (Fri)           INFINITY MUSIC HALL                          Hartford CT
  • Oct 30 (Sat)          CENTER FOR THE ARTS                        Natick MA
  • Nov 2 (Tues)         CITY WINERY                                       Boston MA
  • Nov 3 (Wed)          BULL RUN                                           Shirley MA
  • Nov 4 (Thur)         SPIRE CENTER/PERFORMING ARTS       Plymouth MA
  • Nov 6 (Sat)            BEACON THEATER                              Hopewell VA
  • Nov 11 (Thur)        MARTIN’S                                           Jackson MS
  • Nov 12 (Fri)           SATURN                                             Birmingham AL
  • Nov 13 (Sat)          WALKER THEATER                              Chattanooga TN
  • Nov 14 (Sun)         TAFT THEATER                                   Cincinnati OH
  • Dec 9 (Thur)          RYMAN AUDITORIUM*                        Nashville TN
  • Jan 23 (Sun)           NEWBERRY OPERA HOUSE                   Newberry SC
  • Jan 28 (Fri)             CULTURE ROOM                                 Ft Lauderdale FL
  • Feb 4 (Fri)              PLAZA LIVE ORLANDO                        Orlando FL
  • Feb 5 (Sat)             CTR FOR THE ARTS OF BONITA SPRINGS     Bonita Springs FL
  • Feb 12 (Sat)           DIXIE CARTER PERFORMING ARTS CTR    Huntingdon TN
  • March 27 (Sun)       CENTER FOR THE ARTS OF HOMER     Homer NY
  • March 29 (Tues)     GATEWAY CITY ARTS                         Holyoke NY
  • *with Samantha Fish

tabbenoit.com

facebook.com/TabBenoit

twitter.com/TabBenoitLA

Nashville Scene – TAB BENOIT INTERVIEW (November 2020)

Rock And Blues Muse – TAB BENOIT/SAMANTHA FISH SHOW REVIEW

Chicago Sun-Times – TAB BENOIT INTERVIEW

BLASTMUSIC247.COM

HeartBeat4Kids

Donate to IndiePulse Music Magazine’s Academic and Music Education Scholarship Program HeartBeat4Kids

IndiePulse Music Magazine creates Scholarships to help Youth In Need of assistance to complete their educational goals and stay in school.

Go to http://www.indiepulsemusic.com/heartbeat4kids to learn more, Donations can be made at http://www.paypal.me/xmg – Any Amount will help!

Support Our Publication

About Joseph Timmons (9566 Articles)
I am the Father of 5 and a "Would Be Philosopher of Idiocy" - Author and Writer for several Blogs and Online Magazine. Review Journalist, Musician and Audio Buff. Follow Me and I'm Sure to Entertain.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: